8 Days of Giving Challenge – Day 2

 Hello

I hope all have taken time today to give back to someone else!  As you know yesterday we started our 8 Days of Giving ChallengeWe got a comment earlier and I’ve had people attend the event on my facebook so hopefully by Day 3 more of you will partake in the challenge.

Today I did something I’ve been meaning to do for weeks but never remembered to do it.  The route I walk to my yoga class always has me pass this gentleman that plays the flute — it is a glorious sound especially when you finish a good yoga session.  Well I always want to give him some money for he has the can and he plays in all types of weather – rain, sunny, snowing, or just like the other day sleet.  Today I made sure to put whatever change I had in my pocket (which was about $3 – much weight relieved from the bag) and was praying I would see him and I did!  He was playing but as I put the money in I told him how I enjoyed his music and wanted to do this sooner.  It made me feel so good — I don’t know how much money he makes in a day but I wanted to let him know he is appreciated for he makes my wonderful peace continue even after yoga.

Now here are some suggestions for today:

  • Donate food to an homeless shelter OR buy some groceries/coffee for an homeless person!
  • Pay for a random stranger’s meal!
  • Take your co-workers a special treat — that you made!
  • Anytime a thought of generosity comes about – act on it!

Enjoy your day and Keep Making Gifts Within A Card!

Maranda

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “8 Days of Giving Challenge – Day 2”

  1. sally ann Says:

    Hi Miranda :o)

    Me again! I too this year have decided that giving is way better than receiving! My family has been very blessed this year!

    So today:
    – I went through my closet and packed up clothes that I just don’t wear including several brand new pairs of jeans & a pair of shoes that I have never worn and gave them to our local shelter.
    – Gave all my aluminum cans to an old couple that we see every morning collecting them, all 8 bags crushed that I have been just to lazy to take to the recycling place.

    And for Christmas cards I was inspired by this saying:

    “May no gift be too small to give, nor too simple to receive, which is wrapped in thoughtfulness, and tied with love.” -L. O. Baird

    So we sent a small box, 5″ x 7″ x 1″ filled with gift tags closed with the above quote & bakers twine. Then wrapped in brown wrap & mailed to all of our friends, hoping to inspire giving :o)


Leave a Reply

