Teach You Thursday – Scrap Paper Holiday Greeting

As a cardmaker I find myself wondering what to do when I have some scrap paper with words on it.  Trying to not waste paper or trash it I find some kind of card to make.  Which I hope to show you how to do with today’s tutorial.  In honor of the holiday season I thought I would relate the card to reindeer and music.

Step One: Gather Your Materials (Note materials will differ on this card since it depends on what you have)

Scrap patterned paper, scrap solid paper, sticker embellishment
Materials: Scrap patterned paper, scrap solid paper, sticker embellishment

I have several pieces of scrap red music sheet paper from a custom order so how fitting for a winter holiday greeting since we hear tons of carols this time of the year.  I also have some sticker embellishments that had 2 prancing reindeers so I thought it would make a great card coordinated with light patterned swirls silver paper and a dark gray solid paper.

Step 2: Layout your papers how you desire on the card
Silver Swirl Paper Placed first

Silver Swirl Paper Placed first















I first took the silver swirled paper and made that my background paper.  Then I took the red music paper and cut it be a inner rectangle allowing the swirls to show.  Now for me I don’t pay attention to the size just cut but next tutorial I’ll remember to tell the sizes.
Placement of Red Music Paper

Placement of Red Music Paper















The last piece of layering is the Solid Gray.  Here I took some fancy cutting scissor that were hill curve shaped and cut a narrow piece of the gray and layered that over the entire card centered vertically.
Placement of Curvy Solid Gray Strip

Placement of Curvy Solid Gray Strip















Step 3: Add embellishment
Now I wanted to use the prancing reindeer sticker embellishment(it isn’t flat but gel like).  So I’ve place it in the center of the gray strip directly in the center of the card.  And here it is — I apologize for the picture but I’m studying for finals and using this as my break!
Finshed product - Prancing Reindeer on Music Paper

Finshed product - Prancing Reindeer on Music Paper















Have fun Making Your Own Gift Within A Card!


Maranda

One Response to “Teach You Thursday – Scrap Paper Holiday Greeting”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Very nice and clear instructions! Your process is similar to mine.


Leave a Reply

