8 Days of Giving Day 6-7

Ahhh it has been a busy past 2 days.. I admit I’m one of those last minute shoppers but it was great knowing I wasn’t the only one…saw on the news that 40% of shoppers were just starting on Saturday…. at least I know my shopping for stuff is related to things I needed to make items… So I’m taking a break from my making of presents to remind you Monday is the last day of our 8 Days of Giving Challenge which we started on Monday December 17.

These past two days my way of giving back was via my spare change — I have been allowing my daughter put money in the Salvation Army bucket whenever we come across one and so I increased the amount she gave so that it became dollars rather than cents… I know that the Salvation Army does a lot in our neighborhood and they truly need whatever anyone can spare.

My suggestions for you tonight is to really follow what your heart guides you to do!  Here is a recap of what all the suggestions I listed during the challenge for a reminder:

  • Give money to a charity or organization that you are passionate about.
  • Donate your time and talents by volunteering with a non-profit organization.
  • Change your life a little bit so that your footprint on the earth isn’t as damaging.
  • Use your time on the internet as a way to help fund an initiative world-changing.
  • Say a kind word to someone while you are out and about (especially those catering to your needs).
  • Transport someone that can’t drive.
  • Send a card to someone you haven’t talked with in a long time OR you don’t even know!
  • Babysit for a couple of hours for new parents.
  • Smile at everyone you pass today — a smile is an instant warmth of someone’s heart!
  • Donate food to an homeless shelter OR buy some groceries/coffee for an homeless person!
  • Pay for a random stranger’s meal!
  • Take your co-workers a special treat — that you made!
  • Anytime a thought of generosity comes about – act on it!
  • Shovel snow from your neighbor’s driveway and sidewalk (unfortunately we didn’t get much snow here but hoping)
  • Volunteer your time to help a local homeless shelter or food pantry
  • Bake some cookies and/or candy for your postman, garbage man with a card expressing your thanks
  • Pay for a cup of coffee/tea for the person behind you  at your favorite coffee shop
  • Put extra money in the parking meter for the next car to park

Keep Making Gifts Within A Card!
Maranda

One Response to “8 Days of Giving Day 6-7”

  1. Laura @ Laura Williams' Musings Says:

    A stranger walked up behind me in the Walmart parking lot on Friday and slipped a $20 bill into my hand and said “Merry Christmas, The LORD has been very good to me over the year and I wanted to bless you.” That was so sweet, unexpected, and great as it was much needed.


Leave a Reply

