8 Days of Giving – A ZeVin Creations Challenge

Now as some of our readers know ZeVin Creations has strong feelings about “Paying It Forward” and in the past have talked about a concept we have with cards which we hope to renew in 2008.  But for these 8 Days left before Christmas we want to challenge you to GIVE to others during this season of giving which of course is the true reason of the holiday season.  In my personal opinion, it isn’t about getting all these gifts and spending tons of money but to be with your loved ones and do for others however you can.

These next eight days I’ll post how ZeVin Creations has done something to make a difference in another person’s life.  We will also provide some suggestions on what you can do…  We hope that you our readers will also post or comment on what you did each day…AND Exchange we will randomly select from the comments to get a FREE CARD from us each day (that’s a total of 8 Cards we are giving away).

So here are some suggestions –

  1. Shovel snow from your neighbor’s driveway and sidewalk (unfortunately we didn’t get much snow here but hoping)
  2. Volunteer your time to help a local homeless shelter or food pantry
  3. Bake some cookies and/or candy for your postman, garbage man with a card expressing your thanks
  4. Pay for a cup of coffee/tea for the person behind you  at your favorite coffee shop
  5. Put extra money in the parking meter for the next car to park

Today I’m dropping off clothes for a local Woman and Children’s shelter – I went through all the clothes me and my little one own and don’t wear to compose this tub of clothes.  Some of the clothes include coats which many people are in need of this year.  (If you have a coat you want to donate check out One Warm Coat site for drop-off locations) 

Take this time to inspire others to make a difference this holiday season and you’ll in exchange be rewarded within your spirit knowing you impacted someone that wasn’t expecting it!(And possibly a FREE CARD)

Keep Making Gifts Within A Card!

Maranda

6 Responses to “8 Days of Giving – A ZeVin Creations Challenge”

  1. Lisa (Beadkiss) Says:

    This is a nice idea! This morning I went to the Salvation Army and dropped off a bag full of stuff for a little boy (from an Angel Tree). He’s 3 years old (slightly younger than my daughter), and I wanted to buy the world for him. 🙂 But instead we gave him some jeans, a couple turtlenecks, a cute sweater, some Legos, and a nice treasury of Curious George stories. I hope he loves them. I tried to give things that he can use and enjoy for more than a week or two after Christmas.

    I’m not sure what I’ll be doing in the next few days. I’ve been making an effort to smile at people as we pass, and I always hold the door for the next person. We’ll see what happens!

    Happy Holidays, Maranda!

  2. Pegg Macko Says:

    What a lovely idea. My friend is collecting warm items to be dropped off at the Trenton NJ Homeless shelter. We gave 3 big bags of new socks so that feet (and maybe hands) can be warm for a while this winter.

    This week I’m baking cookies and putting together care packages for the school bus drivers that include treats, hand lotion and lip balm. They take such good care of our kids getting them to and from school. I really appreciate them!!

    Happy Holidays and Love to everyone!

    Pegg!

  3. Michele Says:

    What a great idea! This morning a co-worker and I went to the home of a family the office ‘adopted’ and dropped off all kinds of goodies – toys, clothes, dishes, food. I bought for the 3 year old and 14 year old girls.
    Tomorrow we start travelling, so I will try to be patient and cheerful as we begin our 24 hour journey to Australia.

    Happy Holidays

  4. Angela Says:

    I gave away my extra car seat to a family in need 🙂 It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.. and Connor does not need two infant carriers!

    I blogged you too 🙂
    http://www.prizeatron.com

  5. Danielle Says:

    I took a neighbor who had slipped on the ice to the ER and stayed with her for all 5 looooong hours!
    dansan826 at yahoo

  6. tanyetta Says:

    I went to sell my son’s outgrown clothes at our local resell store. On my way out, I saw a woman shopping with her son who looked about the same size as my son. I asked if she would like these two boxes of stuff, she was so thrilled and I felt happy to help 😉 It was one of those unexpected gifts type of things !


Leave a Reply

